Honoring Scholarship

Lauren Martin

Martin (right) is pictured with community partner Kwanzaa Community Church Co-Pastor Alika Galloway

Lauren Martin, director of research for the Robert J. Jones Urban Research and Outreach-Engagement Center (UROC), has received the 2016 University of Minnesota President's Community-Engaged Scholar Award.

Administered by the Office for Public Engagement and the Office of the Vice Provost for Faculty and Academic Affairs, the annual award recognizes exemplary community-engaged scholarship by a faculty member or P&A employee whose academic career has reflected longstanding commitment to the University’s definition of public engagement.

Martin scholarship addresses the challenges of sex trading/trafficking and the achievement gap. She is the author of Mapping the Market for Sex with Trafficked Minor Girls in Minneapolis: Structures, Functions, and Patterns and oversees UROC’s scholarly research projects and grant applications.

The 2016 President’s Community-Engaged Award Collegiate Recipients are:

  • Elizabeth Bartlett, professor, Department of Women, Gender and Sexuality Studies
  • Lucy Fortson, associate professor, School of Physics and Astronomy
  • Joseph Gaugler, professor, School of Nursing
  • Abigail Gewirtz, professor, Department of Family Social Science
  • Stephen Kells, associate professor, Department of Entomology
  • Perry Moriearty, associate professor, Law School
  • Timothy Smith, professor, Department of Bioproducts and Biosystems Engineering
  • Kathy Quick, assistant professor, Humphrey School of Public Affairs