Call for nominations: Community-University Engagement Awards

The Office for Public Engagement seeks applications for the Association of Public and Land-grant Universities’ (APLU) Community-University Engagement Awards Program, which recognizes outstanding community-university engagement scholarship at four-year public universities. 

This national recognition program honors institutions of higher education that have redesigned their learning, discovery, and outreach missions to deepen their engagement with communities.  Each member of APLU is eligible to nominate one engagement initiative or program for the W.K. Kellogg Foundation Community Engagement Scholarship Regional Award.  All of the regional recipients of this award become eligible for consideration for the national C. Peter Magrath Community Engagement Scholarship Award.  The recipient of the national award is announced at APLU’s annual meeting in Washington, DC.

All units (departments, centers, programs, institutes, etc.) on the Twin Cities campus are eligible to submit a nomination. A campus-wide committee facilitated by the Office for Public Engagement will review nominations and will select one unit to be considered for the award according to the following criteria:

- Evidence of the unit's commitment to community engagement;
- Evidence of reciprocity and shared decision-making in the community-academic partnership;
- Demonstrated positive impact on the community;
- Depth of integration of scholarship into the partnership; and
- Impact on the unit and the University as a whole.

Download program overview and application guidelines here.

Completed nominations are due to by 5 p.m. Friday, March 20. For questions and additional information, contact Amber Cameron (link to, associate director for public engagement initiatives, in the Office for Public Engagement.