Associate VP Furco named to Academy of Community Engagement Scholarship

University of Minnesota Associate Vice President for Public Engagement Andrew Furco has been named to the Academy of Community Engagement Scholarship (ACES). Modeled after the national academies, ACES is a consortium of leading community engagement scholars and practitioners who are recognized for advancing scholarship that serves the public good.  ACES highlights community engagement scholarship that has direct societal impact on complex societal needs and issues.

Furco was inducted as one of nine new members of ACES at a ceremony held on September 30, 2015 during the Engagement Scholarship Consortium Conference at  Pennsylvania State University. Furco was selected through a national nomination process that identifies individuals who have been influential in advancing the study, scholarship, and practice of community engagement.

An associate professor in the University's department of Organizational Leadership, Policy and Development, Furco's research focuses on the study of experiential learning, service-learning, and community engagement. Having completed more than 30 studies, and as an internationally recognized leader in the field, he conducted some of the earliest studies and produced valuable measurement tools, such as the service-learning institutionalization rubric, that are used widely by researchers and practitioners in the field.  His scholarship explores the implementation, impact, and institutionalization of service-learning and civic engagement in K-12 and higher education systems in the U.S. and abroad.  He has worked in over 20 countries and has produced more than 80 publications on the topic.  His publications have been translated into various languages and his research instruments have been applied to community engagement studies across a broad range of educational settings.

Other 2015 ACES inductees include Professor Lorilee Sandmann of the University of Georgia, editor of the field’s leading scholarly journal, Journal of Higher Education Outreach and Engagement, and founder of the National Review Board for the Scholarship of Engagement; and Professor John Saltmarsh of the University of Massachusetts-Boston who led the establishment of the Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching’s Community Engagement designation for colleges and universities.  Furco becomes the second University of Minnesota faculty member, along with Pediatrics Professor Cathy Jordan (inducted in 2014), to be inducted into the academy.